Hi

Wow it’s been like at least a billion years since I posted on this so I don’t know what I was talking about last time or whatever.

I have been quite busy I guess. College life is simultaneously great and a bit of a downer. I’m doing speech and language therapy at NUIG and while I do thoroughly enjoy the course I am very afraid of failing. I have exams in eleven days!!!! But everything will be alright. One day I’m sure I’ll be done with being wrought with anxiety but today is not that day.

So I guess I’ll talk about movies for a bit. I have seen two of the big Oscar nominees thus far: Interstellar and Nightcrawler, both good films for very different reasons. Interstellar is probably my second favourite Christopher Nolan film now, just behind Inception. It still has the same pratfalls that many of Nolan’s films have but it’s got more of an appeal to it I think. M. Night Shyamalan gets slack for his reliance on twists out of nowhere but I haven’t heard anyone criticise Nolan for the exact same thing. Spoilers upcoming: Memento had a huge twist that I found a bit forced and The Prestige had perhaps the silliest twist that I have ever seen. So Interstellar has the same big twist, well more so a revelation at the end but it’s one of the better ones. The other constant problem I find in Nolan’s movies is the sometimes painfully written dialogue. Matthew McConaughey at one point is told that the moon landings were faked. We learn that humanity has turned its back on technology and Matthew is told that it’s for the best. And then we get something along the lines of: “Maybe if you had one of those MRI machines, you would have seen that cyst on my wife’s brain and she’d still be alive today.” The movie does however have a great story behind it and the acting is superb. I just don’t think it’s an instant classic nor do I believe it deserves to win any of the big Oscars although Anne Hathaway might have a chance.

Nightcrawler is a totally different beast then. It’s kind of like American Psycho except instead of Patrick Bateman we get a character who wants to be the world’s best photographer. Maybe not so similar so. Maybe it’s just because both characters are quite psychotic. I don’t really have all that much to say about Nightcrawler but it’s a very enjoyable movie.

I also watch Apocalypse Now, so watch that if you haven’t too.

It’s 2 p.m. now and I’m still frantically worrying about the impending exams. I have to learn stuff about the reproductive system even though I’m studying stuff like articulation and speech disorders. I just find it quite frustrating being a lazy person because I do have ambition. My ambition is just clouded by my various methods of procrastination.

So I’ll end this with some music. Have you guys heard We Are The Ocean’s new song? I’m not sure what to make of it https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5vu6Vj_VmQ

I hope you enjoyed this even though it was a little bit frantic and disordered. All apologies and what not.

Random thought of the day: I’d quite like to be a radio DJ, wouldn’t that be cool.

Leave a comment